Home » News » Awards Evening Well Attended

Awards Evening Well Attended

posted in: News 0

Awards_evening1The success of Exeter Harriers in the past 12 months was reflected in a big turn-out for the club’s annual presentation evening at the Exeter Harrier Clubhouse at the end of January

Apart from the individual awards, there was plenty for the club to celebrate, with the club comprehensively winning the South West Athletics League Division 2 title with some outstanding performances from the juniors. Also both the men’s and women’s senior teams maintained their national league status. Similarly the senior men regained their senior men’s Westward League Cross Country League team trophy and the under 15 boys dominated their age group to win their age group team trophy.

Sonya Ellis awarded the senior male athlete award to Steve Turnock, who has been an integral part of the team improving his personal best in the javelin to 68.99 and being ranked 11th in the senior UK rankings (6th in his under 23 age group). The junior award went to Dan Petty for his contribution to the team and success in the 400 metres this year, improving his personal best to dip below 50 seconds for the first time with a new personal best of 49.63. Nick Foxworthy and Dave Dawson shared the award for commitment to the team for their contribution to a wide range of events to ensure we scored as many points as possible.

Dave Robinson presented the senior female athlete award to Rebecca Chapman who improved her long jump personal best to 6.11 and had 6 wins in the UK Women’s Athletics League. Miranda Hardacre was deservedly named junior female athlete of the year after continually improving in the sprint events with a two second personal best over 400 metres with a time of 57.87. Catherine Harman collected the award for commitment to the team, having competed in a wide range of events including the 200 metres, 400 metres, 800 metres, 1500 metres and the discus.

South West League team managers Godfrey Fry and Debbie Marok awarded female athlete of the year to Ella Crouch for her contribution to a lot of points in the long jump, high jump, javelin and shot putt. Jack Churchill for covering a wide range of events (even some he had never tried before) including 100 metres, 200 metres, 300 metres, pole vault and hammer. Phoebe Killen marked a good debut season on the track for club by winning the commitment to the team award.

The male cross country runner of the year award went to Jonathan Atse Herrera who had a good first season with club, finishing 5th overall in the Westward League and winning the final fixture of the season in Plymouth. Katherine Humphreys retained her female cross country runner of the year crown after finishing third in the Westward League with a strong string of results in all the fixtures she competed in.

The Centenary Cup for throws was awarded to Jack Moncur for his improvement by 5 metres in the javelin over the last year. The Ken Trickey Cup for outstanding performance went to Sam Talbot. He had an outstanding season including winning bronze for England at the SIAB Schools’ Pentathlon International, silver in the junior boy’s pentathlon at the English Schools Combined Events Championships and finishing the 2013 season ranked number one in the country for the Pentathlon in the under 15 boys’ age group.

The final awards of the evening were from the coach’s themselves. Brian OʼHare gave best male performance to Archie Stoneman and female performance to Miranda Hardacre. Neil Parsley gave most improved athlete to Lynne Robertson and most determined athlete to Aggie Purser-Mountford.  Tom Child gave most improved athlete to Craig Moncur and most committed athlete to Josh Cann. Kevin Skinner gave the junior volunteer award to Nadia Kellie-Smith and most dedicated athlete to Ella Crouch. Dawn Skinner gave junior awards scheme trophies to Craig Moncur and Brooke Coldwell. George Eccles gave the technical improvement to Steve Turnock.

It was a lovely evening and nice to see so many athletes so pleased to receive recognition. Fingers crossed for further success next year and let’s just hope we can build upon a strong 2013 season.